Day 22

“Sideburns are named after Civil War General Ambrose Burnside of RI, who had a great set of chops”

-Narragansett Beer Cap

Guest blogger signing on.  You can take a guess who it is.

So, Andy and I just finished a delicious dinner reminiscent of our pre-baby days. Well, at least for the first 15 minutes or so when Hazel was soundly sleeping in her bouncy chair.  I kept thinking to myself, I am not even going to look over there because I know as soon as I do those little eyes are going to open and we all know what happens after that…yep, crying.  She eventually woke up, but those 15 minutes were fabulous!  And then she joined us at the table for a little dinner of her own…courtesy of me, thank you (for the record, Hazel, you eat A LOT).  But, to be honest, as fabulous as it was to have those few minutes to enjoy our dinner, I don’t think I could be happier than when that baby is right next to me.  Amazing how much you can love someone.

Last night was a “good night.”  I am not even going to go into detail about what a “bad night” entails.  Let’s just say it wouldn’t be categorized as “fun” and it generally includes a fair amount of time spent watching infomercials.  Anyway, last night we were in bed at 10pm (woo hoo!) and Hazel woke up every three hours, almost on the dot.  Not only is three hours pretty wonderful, but the most wonderful part was that after eating she went right back to sleep in the bassinet.  For the past three weeks Andy or I have been spending the latter part of the night on the couch with her because she wants NOTHING to do with the bassinet in the middle of the night. Prior to last night it had crossed my mind that I would be spending the better part of my night on the couch for a long time, but last night gave me hope!  My mother said that you can’t spoil a baby in the first three weeks of life because they don’t know enough.  Well, three weeks are up today, Hazel.  Get ready for “Strict Mom.”  Ha ha, Andy will get a kick out of that…when it comes to my Vins and Charlie, I am pretty much the opposite of strict.  I say, how can you be strict with two such cute, furry animals?  I honestly don’t think it’s possible.   So, Andy just told me “people like pictures” so here you go…this is wide-eyed Hazel right before her 7am feeding.

Guest blogging is fun.  I’ll be back.

And since Andy said you all like pictures, I will leave you with one more.  Here is Hazel taking a little snooze this afternoon while her Mom wasted time watching “The Real Housewives of New York.”  Those women are crazy, but the show is addictive.  And significantly more entertaining than infomercials.

“Cornelius Kelley”

-Narragansett Beer Cap

  1. Ben

    1. I love this guest blogger.
    2. I love this guest blogger using Narragansett beer cap quotes.
    3. You guys rock.




Leave a Reply

